Inspiring

Vintage dictionary and button flowers
So cute! I harbour an urge to make one as a brooch.

100 Species challenge Definitely something to try this spring, especially since my dad – the native prairie gardener and former weed ecologist – said upon hearing this idea, “We could probably do it in this yard alone. I’m pretty sure I’ve got more than 100 species growing here.

For Ravelry users.  The Mystery Beret – brainchild of Woolly Wormhead, whose hats have been inspiring me non-stop for two weeks. You sign up and in November she releases the pattern a section per week, building a lacy beret for you. I love the idea of this, particularly the thought of doing it as a Christmas knit – how cool is the idea of not knowing exactly how a project is going to turn out?! A little more compatible with my life than all the mystery shawls that have been hot on the internet.

The cute, free templates for gift boxes from Crafty Leftovers. Enlarged 135%, the box with attatched lid fits just right onto a 12″x12″ piece of paper, making the impulse purchase of a pad of double-sided scrapbooking paper seem like it was pre-ordained.

Also inspiring this weekend: the crisp fall air, the breeze, running with Rainer, and making a brainstorm list of ideas for our Handmade Holiday season.  I’ll be bloggin that family-friendly list sometime soon, as those of us trying to do handmade gifts need to get our minds around this.

3 thoughts on “Inspiring

  1. Julie says:

    Great links thanks. Will definitely make the boxes.
    Wooly Wormhead inspired me to choose the spinning wheel I have – I hadn’t heard of the make until I visited her site. Unfortunately I don’t know how a knitting pattern will turn out if I knit it – even if I have the whole pattern in advance!!

Leave a comment