Opinions, please

I’m knitting Hana Hou and I’m running out of yarn. All that’s left to knit are the sleeves and I have two partial balls left. I need advice.

I’m definitely doing long sleeves. I found some natural coloured Sportweight yarn to add in. As I see it I have two options. Both involve keeping the textured cuffs in the grey. But should the rest of the grey go on the bottom or the top?

Quandaries

I’ve measured the swatch as a rough stand in for the cuff, and one of my partial balls is exactly the same as that amount doubled, so that seems clear.

As you can see in the picture, I’ve sketched out a rough plan of the two options. In both options, I knit both sleeves at the same time, using different ends of the ball. I’m not sure, however, how much length I’m going to get from 35g.

Be aware that I’m planning on doing some geometric embroidery in white to bring the colour into the main part of the sweater and look more integrated.

So

1) white at the top, all the grey at the bottom?

2) grey cuff, white middle, grey sleeve caps?

7 thoughts on “Opinions, please

  1. amsawatzky says:

    I think option 1 works better. Option 2 looks great in the sketch, but I think that in the actual sweater, option 1 will looks more like a design element and less of a running out of yarn solution. Just an opinion, of course!

  2. Nancy says:

    Are striped sleeves an option? I think the white hunk in a different color stands out too much — I think stripes would look more intentional. Even really wide stripes.

  3. Ann says:

    I like the stripes idea better than neither of the color block ideas. Is finding more of the original gray impossible? Or, rather than use white yarn, could you find another gray, either just a shade lighter or darker? If you color blocked another shade of gray, the blocks wouldn’t stand out as much.

Leave a Reply

