unexpected

I’ve been having problems following the script lately, at least when it comes to my hobbies, especially my knitting. It’s not that I don’t have plans. Oh, I have plans! I wanted to knit 6 sweaters this year, for example, and not many of those are for me. I have traditionally loved making lists and proudly checking items off as I went.

It’s not that I don’t have lots of new plans, either. I am enjoying the traditional fall pastime of imaginarily knitting the entire world of possibilities. Sweet dreaming days, these crisp autumnal days.

It’s that when it comes time to actually knit, I don’t cast on anything that’s on my Responsible To Do List. I pick a yarn and a pattern that is totally off the responsibility radar. Or even my radar at all. I need a new project, and I so I surf through the possibilities and often pick something I didn’t even have prior time to dream over and plan.

At the start

It’s a little understandable. Or maybe a lot.

We are full of Responsible these days. Stuffed to the responsible gills. I find I am completely unable and unwilling to apply any sort of Ought or Should to my free time.

After the flurry of prepping our house for Rainer’s parents’ arrival, I cast on a sweater I had never even heard of and almost blissed out while I knit on grey stockinette. No, truth be told, I am still actually blissing out. Oh, stockinette. Oh, simplicity. Oh, glory.

Leave a Reply

