Choice

This week in Weight Watchers I helped my members brainstorm a list of mantras we could use to stay focused.  Before WW, I often felt like food was in control, especially in festive settings.  Slowly, WW taught me confidence and control. And now it’s my turn to help others build up a tool kit of skills, sayings, and confidence.

Some of the mantras have been around for a long time, and I’ve used them myself:

  • Nothing tastes as good as being thin feels.
  • I’m not saying no to the food, I’m saying yes to myself.
  • Do I really want to lose that pound again?
  • Is that worth the Points?
  • Do I really want this?
  • etc

Then, out of the blue, a member came up with this one:

I have a choice.

Bam!  Wow.  I stopped writing on the flip chart.  That just stuck right out.  It’s so powerful.

  • You can choose a treat if it’s the right choice. Because there is always room for some treats in life.
  • You can choose to pop some gum in your mouth.
  • You can choose to say, “No thanks, not right now.”
  • You can choose to invite your cousins for a winter walk.
  • You can choose to bring a dish to the party.
  • You can choose to drink water.
  • You can choose.

I have a choice

In all things, there is choice.  And we often give that power away.  We think things like “I have to…”, “I should…”, “I can’t…”, “I shouldn’t…”

I have a choice.

I choose health.  I choose compassion.  I choose to leave the world a better place.   I choose to listen.  I choose to care for myself as I would for others.  I choose.

2 thoughts on “Choice

  1. Tara says:

    I just got back from my WW meeting and the mantra that has been in my head this week is ‘Perfect is the enemy of good’. That is really powerful for me for some reason. I love your blog!

Leave a Reply

