Favourites

I have decided to start sharing my favourite things on a regular basis. I hope that you’ll do the same, either in the comments or on your blog. There is too much out there, online and in reality, to catch it all.  But with the help of my clever and wise friends, we should be able to focus a spotlight that makes the choices manageable.

Today’s favourite is a Twitter account.  I’m dipping my toe into Twitter slowly, trying to sort out its parameters (I’m here: @PrairiePoppins).  One of my favourite things about it is the stream from @RealTimeWWII: reporting WWII as though it were unfolding currently.  There are links to photos and videos where possible.  It is fascinating, horrifying, spooky to see these items pop up embedded in the flow of knitting chatter, current news, running talk, etc, that makes up the flow of my Twitterscape.

Here are a few sample tweets, all with pictures to link through to see:

  • Neville Chamberlain, ex-Prime Minister who reluctantly led UK into war, has resigned from Cabinet due to ill-health. link
  • London Underground stations are now turning off the electric tracks at night- making more space to shelter from bombs. link
  • Londoners, desperate for shelter, cramming into improvised shelters under railway arches- people find beds everywhere. link
    (love the photo on this one, and make sure you read the caption – talk about an unexpected tagline!)
  • 400,000+ Jews now trapped in 1.3 square miles of Warsaw. Over 7 people to a room. Water & sewage grotesquely inadequate.  link

I’ve avoided most of WWII history.  It’s grim, horrid, nasty stuff and my imagination and empathy do well enough with just the headlines of that history.  What this means is that there’s much here that I don’t know exactly, that I’m uncertain of how it plays out, or how quickly.  I can’t be certain, which fills the process with suspense.

I’m so inspired by this idea that later this year I’m using it as an assignment idea.  The kids will choose a historical person in the North West Rebellion and create a flow of tweets from the event as though authored by him.

One thought on “Favourites

  1. momco3 says:

    Sarah, my (new) all-time favourite WWI book is Connie Willis’s Bloackout and All Clear (one book, 2 volumes): all about London in WWII, through the lens of time travel. Amazing, nothing like 4 years in a concentration camp (which is what most WWII reading has seemed to me). Hope you enjoy it.

Leave a Reply

