the future is now!

the future is now!

::

Despite a decade of online life, I am only now learning to type with my thumbs.

It’s my first cell phone.

::

Any tips would be welcome.  Especially places to learn about apps without exploding my brain.

There seem to be so many facets to master if I want this to be as useful as I hope: family calendar syncing, entering contacts, choosing a photo app, education apps…

::

I’ve texted. I’ve phoned. I’ve surfed. I’ve listened to ringtones.

7 thoughts on “the future is now!

  1. Bobbi says:

    One thing to know is that if your family utilizes a single apple ID you can ALL use the apps (music, books, etc) you purchase. We treat my appleID as a family ID for all our various devices. It does mean that I type in my code a lot when updating is happening but so far it’s worked well for us.

    I’m a hardcore word game junkie so scrabble and words with friends are favorites here 🙂

    Have fun!

  2. Kim says:

    I think you’ll want iMap My Run. I use the free version – there’s a paid version as well – not too sure how much or how much better.

  3. Jen says:

    I love my grocery list app. I use Grocery IQ, but since I live in Android Land, I have no idea what is out there for you Fruity Folk. I just know that I am much less likely to leave my phone at home than I am the random scrap of paper my list is usually scribbled on. I have heard Out of Milk is a great list app. I also use my metric convertor app a lot.

    Text me if you need practice!

  4. Sharon says:

    Hipstamatic is a fun photo app with lots of different lens and film options. There are lots of knitting apps too but I haven’t used any yet so don’t which are worth the download. Apps make me feel like a kid in a candy store!

  5. susie m says:

    Picture Show is my favorite photo app. You can take a regular picture with the iPhone camera and then open it in Picture Show. Then you can do all sorts of fun things with it, frames, contrast, filters, etc. Highly recommended. And I also love checking Pinterest on my iPhone. Hours of fun!

  6. Katie says:

    How exciting! I love my iGadgets. All of them. 🙂 We use iMessage quite often. The husband and I have iPhones and our boys have iPod touches…so they can iMessage us (which fills their desire for texting without actually having to pay for text messaging, lol) whenever they are in range of WiFi.

    I don’t know about the Hipstamatic app, but we use and enjoy Instagram for picture taking/sharing. I also use my Cozi app on a regular basis. We all use Cozi on our computers so we all have the same calendar. It’s nice that we can travel with it as well. I’m also a fan of the Cozi shopping list.

    Have fun with your new toy! 🙂

    Katie
    Using online resources, web games and apps to help my boys build their vocabulary.

Leave a Reply

