creativity is our substitute teacher

Some days when I’m sick, the DVD player is our substitute teacher.  Other days I manage to set us on a better course*.  The kids did their reading and their math this morning, and then we all settled into a variety of Good Things.  Sandra did some knitting and drawing.  Tias played outside and read Calvin and Hobbes.

This afternoon kicked it into high gear, with Sandra working on sewing the scalloped edge of a baby blanket, Tias painting his room**, while I was working on a sock made of leftover yarns.

* unlike most Canadians, I don’t have a choice about not infecting my coworkers

**with Rainer’s help.  The strike drags on.

scrappy

scrappy but not crappy

6 thoughts on “creativity is our substitute teacher

  1. Sonia G Medeiros says:

    Last week, I was so sick. The kiddos and I camped out in bed and did a lot of reading and math games. I love that homeschooling is so flexible. And that we can still get stuff done when we’ve got the sickies. 😀

  2. Ann says:

    Love the scrappy sock. I’ve been saving bits and bobs of sock yarn for just such a project and just recently realized I probably have enough for a pair. I’ve been mulling over just how to do it; your sock gave me a couple of ideas.

    Though I don’t love being sick, I do love days like the one you described. We spent an unexpected hour and a half in the basement this afternoon because there was a tornado warning (very weird in mid-November). Our individual creative projects changed to cleaning up the mess down there, and we made some progress. I fear the basement will never really be clean unless we have a very stormy spring!

    Can’t wait to see the finished socks.

  3. Jen says:

    The university here just ended the strike last Wednesday night. It was nearly seven full days. I am glad not to stand on the picket line! I hope your husband’s strike ends soon.

  4. Elle says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog to let me know you tried one of my recipes, and especially that you liked it!

    I am glad I found your blog. Your knitting projects are great. I hope to take up knitting again this winter so will be coming back to have a closer look.

    Hope you are feeling better soon.

  5. Patte in SC says:

    Ah, don’t we all need substitutes to realize just how amazing the usual teacher/instruction can be or to have a new perspective shown? And don’t knitting, drawing, playing outside, and following a movie, provide the outlets to put learned concepts (counting, spatial organization, concept to completion, and recognizing beginning to end organization) into practice? All without having to explain or belabor, thereby permitting the instructor/facilitator to observe and recharge. Hopefully they also got to practice hygiene and compassion in ‘nursing’ you back to good health. As I am now laid up from ankle surgery this afternoon, those last two items seem highly desirable in my 8 and 11 year olds.
    Here’s to you and your lovely family!

Leave a Reply

