it’s official

officially begun

::

We hashed out a training plan this weekend.  And so it’s official – I’m training for a marathon.  Minneapolis in October.

It wasn’t on purpose that it ended up on the bulletin board with the photo strip, but it’s right.  This is – oddly? naturally? – a very romantic thing.  He’s inspired me to do this.  We train together side-by-side for hours.

Why am I nervous now?  I’m no more ‘in training’ than I was 2 weeks ago.  I’m no more ‘in training’ than I was last year when I pushed my long runs up to 18 miles.  Perhaps it’s the concrete date.  Knowing that in 14 weeks I’d better show up with everything I need.  What if I get injured? sick?  That’s probably a big part of it.  I’ve gotten good at being a half-marathon runner.  Training that distance, enjoying longer runs.  It’s work, but within my comfort zone and my confidence zone. But now, now it’s time to produce.

My goals are simple:

1) finish

2) (bonus goal) finish in less than 5 hours.  4:30 sounds reasonable given what  I know of myself.

4 thoughts on “it’s official

  1. Savannah says:

    Wow, that is exciting. I think it’s great that you and your husband have this together 🙂 Well done for pushing yourself that much farther, too. It’s very easy to just say “this is good enough” and not try more when we get to a certain point. A great example to your kids 🙂

  2. Mariah says:

    Sarah — This is a big deal and I can understand nervous! From what I can tell you do a great job knowing yourself and what you’re capable of accomplishing. You’ll rock this!

Leave a Reply

