Changes

Falling for fruits…

: :

red

: :

I don’t mention it much, but I work for Weight Watchers a few hours per week.  I’ve been leading meetings for 3 years now, but I’ve been with Weight Watchers since 2002 when I (finally) admitted I needed help to lose weight. Every January, the New Year’s crowd floods in and we have a flurry of busyness. This year has been beyond anything I’ve seen. The new program, and the advertising for it, is pulling people in. Big lines stress me out a bit and I’m always caught between wanting to connect with each person to give them whatever tip or motivation they need and wanting to get the line moving.

This is tricky – people need to know I care, that they’re not just a number on a scale, and they need to know that I believe they can change.  Change. It’s at the heart of life, but we resist it. It’s what’s scary and yet exciting about new things.

When I came to WW (reluctantly) I hoped I could change; I wasn’t sure. I see that in face after face now that I’m on the other side of the scale.

I have to say, I love the new program.  It takes everything I liked about the old program and that made me successful, and makes it even more flexible, more livable.  I’m excited to  think that it just might be exactly what all these enthusiastic faces in line need in order to change.

Change.  Helping people figure out how to unlock that bit of bravery they need is so satisfying.  Helping people remake their lives.  Helping people gain confidence like a snowball rolling down a hill.  I feel lucky every Tuesday.  And recently, with the flood of interest, I’ve been feeling even more energy for change.  Adventures of a most personal kind unfolding around me.

4 thoughts on “Changes

  1. Debonli says:

    I’m in WW here on Long Island. The motivation has taken a hike though. The new plan is very nice, though. I need to get my plan together and do the work.

  2. Anne says:

    I do it online, and had success in the past, but found overseas eating just too frustrating to figure it out. Now we are back on this side of the pond, and I start, and stop, and start, and stop. I have made the decision though, that This week I start again. And I do it, regardless of results or mistakes. The same goes for my Yoga too.
    I actually made the resolve about a week and half ago, but got hit with a killer head cold. All I wanted to eat was munchy type food that didn’t require much thought. Not helpful when trying to lose weight! Well, that and generally feeling icky. But now I am feeling better and I *want* to do it. That’s half the battle right there, I think 🙂

  3. Val says:

    You are so lovely. Every now and then you could smile. It appears you have a GREAT life, GREAT kids, a WONDERFUL husband. Perhaps I’m a cheefulness nut, but sister, smile, okay? Life is very good. love, Val

Leave a Reply

