Sock Stash Knitdown 2011

Want to join me?  It turns out the idea of 12 in 12 was communicable.  Rather like a disease, I suppose. Or a meme if you’re looking for a less bubonic reference.  Join the thread over at Ravelry if you’re so inclined.  I’m doing 12 in 12 socks for a goal again, but other people want to make 12 fingering weight projects or simply see how much they can find time to knit.

::

Sock Stash Knitdown 2011

::

There’s nothing quite like a mosaic for those of us who like to plan, is there? So I made one up and discovered a few important facts. 14 of them, to be precise.

It turns out that it’s a very, very good thing I did this. I actually laughed out into the room. A giant, “HA!” resounded. I was convinced that I would need to buy a few skeins in the WEBS Boxing Day sale. Just toss a few in for good measure. It turns out that I’ve got at least 14 pairs in serviceable yarn already.

Serviceable? This mosaic is only the yarn I’m willing to turn into socks. All my fingering weight that is 100% wool won’t be socks, not after my three gorgeous pairs of hand-dyed yarn got horrid holes so quickly compared to those with nylon (those are like the undead and just never die). And there are also 2 stripey sweaters’ worth that aren’t in this mosaic. As I also have plans to use these 100% wool yarns to knit a few scarves, shawls, sweaters, and mittens on top of socks, I foresee a year full of some of my most favourite yarns. It’s going to be a good year.

6 thoughts on “Sock Stash Knitdown 2011

Leave a Reply

