off to the library

I need to read one more biography to settle the last slot in my 12 in 12 goal for reading. I just finished Henry: Virtuous Prince this morning before breakfast, and think I may be going for Six Wives: The Queens of Henry VII.  I don’t want to muck about in the library very long today, since I’ve got herb buns on the rise and a busy evening ahead.  Are there books you think I should pick up the next time I go?

: :

book

: :

 

I’ve got one to recommend: The Wild Trees.

With only a day to spend with the Redwood trees, I was happy to find a way to experience them through words. The book’s structure unfolds with the scientists’ and adventurers’ stories, allowing the reader to experience the mystery, risk, and joy of discovery they felt.

I was sad enough about the schedule, now I wish I’d had far more time with the Redwoods.

5 thoughts on “off to the library

  1. Jeannette says:

    Gwen Raverat’s “Period Piece.” She was a grand daughter of Charles Darwin and an exquisite woodcut artist. She wrote this memoir about her childhood amongst her eccentric Darwin relatives. It’s informative and hilarious.

    It wasn’t in our NB libraries, I had to inter-library loan it. Then I bought it off Amazon — definitely a keeper!

  2. Just Peaches says:

    Have you read “My Journey to Llhasa” by Alexandra David-Neel? or how about “Too Close to the Falls” by Catherine Gildener?

  3. Ann says:

    I really enjoyed “A Girl Named Zippy: Growing up small in Mooreland, Indiana” and the continuation “She Got Up Off the Couch and other Heroic Acts from Mooreland, Indiana” by Haven Kimmel. Also, the three book series by Ruth Reichl (former editor of Gourmet Magazine and restaurant critic for the NY Times), “Tender at the Bone”, “Comfort Me with Apples”, and “Garlic and Sapphires”.
    Penguin has a series called “Penguin Lives” of biographies that I’ve really enjoyed as well. Here’s a link to that list: http://www.librarything.com/series/Penguin%20Lives

    I’ve been reading mostly biography/memoir for a couple of years now. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

