Worth a Read

a few things I’d like to pass on:

Animal Review : a blog that rates animals.  An odd, comic, wry look at the fauna around us. Is a turtle a B- animal?  Or a worm a C+?

excerpt from the T. Rex review: “On the cosmic scale of things, the fact that grizzly bears frighten us is a bit laughable, for if they stepped out of a time machine and into the age of the dinosaurs, grizzly bears would spend the majority of their short lives screaming like children and running away from everything they saw – including the plants, probably.”

They’ve got a book out now – the hilarious interview on CBC radio was what lead me to them in the first place – and I’m thinking it needs to make its way under the Christmas tree.

::

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie: a charming, odd novel that’s part mystery, part ode to the oddities of life in England – for only in Britain can I imagine the indomitable Flavia De Luce, 11 year old chemist.

::

Camp Creek Blog: a homeschool mother with a way of crystallizing big thoughts into small, sharp, useful phrases.   Not sharp in terms of pain, but in terms of their ability to cut through the muddy waters.  See the post on “Real Hands-On Learning” and check out what I mean.

2 thoughts on “Worth a Read

  1. Shawna says:

    I adored The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie. It reminded me of a British Nancy Drew only better because I liked it even though I’m not ten. I have heard a rumor that it is the first in what is to become a series. Don’t know that I’ll bother to carry on with Flavia but it was fun while it lasted 🙂

Leave a Reply

