a circle of life kind of thing

a circle of life kind of thing

March takes the snow; March brings the snow.

March is difficult. This is the time of year when homeschooling seems hardest, emotions run roughest, hope seems smallest. All of us get cranky and I start to shop for new curricula in the unexpressed hope that new programs will translate into a new life. I worry and fret.  I know in my heart of hearts that I am failing us all miserably.

At least, that’s been the pattern in past years. This year, only 7 years after it all started, I’ve remembered the pattern before it began.  I saw it coming and awareness changed it.  I’ve noticed that the fluctuating weather systems and vast swings in barometric pressure make us all testy. I’ve noticed that Matthias handles it most poorly and always says something that makes me cry. I’ve noticed that this period of seeing spring but not having spring seems to steal our patience with nature, with ourselves, with each other. I’ve noticed its the season of burnout, and so I’ve stopped taking March seriously.

Like a surfer on a powerful wave, I just ride. I just let things happen without trying to make plans or force them into being.

Homeschooling. Winter. Parenting. Spring. March. It’s a circle of life kind of thing.

8 thoughts on “a circle of life kind of thing

  1. kellyi says:

    I can totally connect with what you are saying. We are nearing our first complete year of home educating, so March is new to us, and the most challenging month so far!

    The highs and lows are very extreme and can be exhausting.

    Spring is nearly here…..repeat as necessary 🙂

  2. tinkermama says:

    I’ve felt this way my whole life and only now begun to recognize the pattern. It also seems to affect my toddler. I try extra hard not to compare myself to others and live simply and gently right now.

  3. Amy says:

    March has been rough on us too. For us it hasn’t been the kids it has been mostly me. I am in a funk I can’t seem to get out of. I feel a list of things to do a mile long and school isn’t even on that list. I feel like I am doing a hundred jobs but doing none of them well.

    I don’t know why I just unloaded all that to you. I guess I needed to get it out to someone that might just understand. Thanks for posting.

  4. patte in ri says:

    I’m retreating with poetry: Mary Oliver and Ted Kooser both let me see simple places and both are calming. Naomi Shihab Nye is also a gem. Ooh, your daughter might enjoy the poems in Blue Lipstick by John Grandits. Our library has that one and his first one Technically, It’s Not My Fault from the brother’s point of view. April is coming, my 6 year old promised me.

  5. Lisa says:

    Good observations. I can’t imagine having winter last as long as it does for you–I don’t mean the official dates, but the long-lasting cold!

  6. Cathy T says:

    Oh the March funk! We have it too here — always have too. And the rains… Oh the rains we are having here in MA. Ack, it just adds to the misery. I’m off to make hot chocolate; maybe that will help me!

Leave a Reply

