12 in 12 update for January

I set out three small, tidy goals for myself at the beginning of the year. I am happy to inform you that my January portions were fulfilled.

There were 3 themes: books, connection, and socks.

:  :  :

Connection: One set of grandparents phoned. One letter written to the other side.

Letter

One precious letter received in reply. A story of learning to knit nearly 60 years ago. Glimpses into a life lived today. Precious.

:  :  :

Socks: Waffle Rib from Sensational Knitted Socks by Schurch.  His third pair in this pattern.  What can I say, he likes them.  And the little prompting of having something interesting to do every 4 rounds, that little spur to do ‘just one more repetition’ before setting them down makes them go along at a good speed.

Waffle Rib socks

:  :  :

Books: I had two books unfinished at the beginning of the year and I allowed myself to count finishing both as one book.  This is part of my new philosophy of being as compassionate to myself as I am to others.

Acacia is more political and mythological than the fantasy genre would lead you to expect.  A dark book in many ways, stuffed with interesting, complex characters, and always the plot was doing unexpected things – recommended.

Eleanor of Aquitaine: By the Wrath of God, Queen of England checks off the first of 6 biographies I plan to read as part of this goal.  A good bio, though like many from this time period a paucity of sources makes this more of a textbook on larger events than a riotous look at a personal journey.  Still – recommended, especially for those of you who like medieval history.

I had started reading a bio of Wellington, but it’s dry and 98 pages in I think I’m putting it aside.  Our small library doesn’t have the best selection of modern biographies with that indefinably more interesting approach to the genre which I prefer.  I just started Wicked this afternoon, something everyone else has read. So far, intriguing.

3 thoughts on “12 in 12 update for January

  1. Shnoodle says:

    I think I almost prefer to read biographies of controversial figures instead of the typical heroes. Charles Lindbergh and J. Edgar Hoover come to mind – very interesting.

    Good luck with your very admirable goals!

  2. Anne says:

    there’s a ya novel called “Enter Three Witches” which was a good, but quick read. An interesting take on Macbeth…
    I haven’t read Wicked – wonder if it lives up to all the buzz!
    I like your 3 goals. I could do that 🙂

Leave a Reply

