Monday-ish

Snowy Limb
:: ::

I’m feelin’ it.  Very Monday-ish.  A little unwilling.  A little slow.  A little thick in the thought processes.  The sky is very dark grey and so the house isn’t even promising to brighten.

Monday-ish feelings are full of possibilities, though:

~    Should one fight the good fight and work on through it?  Virtue is its own reward.

~    Should one recognize that we’re not robots and this is part of the very reason we live a handmade life of homeschooling and other adventures?  Going with the flow is its own reward.

~    Should we phone up a friend and her little brood and see if we should tempt them to swap the To Do list for a visit?  Companionship is its own reward.

~    Should one devote the day to a tea party and blanket fort with associated crafting thrown in? Pleasing the kids is its own reward.

::  ::

What do you do when you’re Monday-ish?

19 thoughts on “Monday-ish

  1. Jennifer says:

    Generally we go with the flow, thankful that we can be flexible. If I try to force things when everyone is feeling sluggish, I usually regret it. I find that a quick baking session usually helps those Monday-ish feelings.

  2. Kika says:

    Sometimes, unfortunately, my initial response is to grouch and snarl. Yes, it is true. I am not proud of it and am working on it. I feel on edge much of the time, in this very busy season of life – not quite having adjusted yet and my stress doesn’t always bring out the best in me. I just don’t see how we can relax and “go with the flow”; the lessons and the meals and the … won’t take care of themselves!

  3. Leslie says:

    We go with the flow…like today. Kids played while a slept/rested in a bit. Mid-morning breakfast. Then off to do whatever the kids wanted (reading, coloring). Now I’m blogging/reading blogs and they’re playing dress up! It almost doesn’t feel so much like a Monday anymore! (smile)

  4. inneedofchocolate says:

    Kika, I often feel like you, especially this Monday though it’s quiet here now with 2yo napping and 6yo playing on her own. We’re trying to adjust to a new rhythm of full time homeschooling rather than school 3 days/week and life seems overly full right now.

  5. Meredith says:

    It’s VERY Monday-ish here too, rain pouring heavily down!! Fresh bread has just come out of the machine and we’ve finished a great read-aloud! We’re going to snuggle down for an audio book after lunch and craft and knit 🙂

  6. Kris says:

    Ah, I usually do one of two things;
    A) plow ahead… and add cookies to the mix
    or
    B) skip planned schoolish stuff in favor of a great read aloud and
    add cookies to the mix!

  7. Debbie says:

    We’re trying something new with our mondays…it’s a focused family time, which in nicer weather (and sometimes even in not) means getting outside for an explore. My grad student dh has that flexibility on mondays, and I’m wondering if it will start our weeks feeling more connected? don’t know yet! it’s so tempting to get into a “get things done” mode instead, with his extra attention and hands around for the morning. it will also be interesting to see if mondays ever feeling monday-ish. usually the remedy for monday-ish is getting outside or spending the morning on the couch, reading together.

  8. Mom21 says:

    Monday-ish days are devoted to watching videos wrapped up in blankies while chewing chocolate chip cookies or a bag of doritos. Yeah, we even forgo the “healthy eating” stuff for an afternoon. Sometimes the videos are Mom’s choice – we’ve watched Discovery channel dvd’s such as Planet Earth but sometimes we just sit down and watch Lord of the Rings. Sometimes I leave the choice to Squirt – and generally it’s a cartoon of some sort, but sometimes he will suprise me and we will end up watching a documentary of some kind.

  9. inneedofchocolate says:

    All these comments are making me feel so much better about days when we just make cookies and watch movies and never get out of our pajamas.

  10. Jillian says:

    I vote go with the flow. Learning seems to work most fluently when a persons spirit is in harmony with the activity.

    On Mondayish days I let the kids dive into easy crafting projects or audio books they’re interested in. I enjoy watching them choose their activities of interest and remind myself how fortunate we are to have the flexibility our lifestyle offers.

  11. Carrie says:

    I love this post! I love the reminder that even when we feel “blah” we are blessed with the luxury of choosing what our day looks like, and that instead of always facing a day with “what needs to be done” it helps to turn it around and say “what would feel nurturing to me right now?”

    I happen to love a completed To Do List, but need frequent reminders that completing my To Do list is my choice and that not completing it is an equally valid choice.

    You really have distilled the essence of a hand-made life.

  12. Amanda says:

    Hi there! I found you on Ravelry, and love your blog! I’m sure I must have been here before… but maybe not, because I wouldn’t have left. 🙂

    I used to have months of Monday-ish days. Somehow they’re more enjoyable when they’re a little less frequent. 😉

Leave a Reply

