“Finished,” she whispered

Whisper Cardigan

___

Just before we left for the holiday I finished a project that I was so excited about. Whisper Cardigan from Interweave Knits Spring 2009. It was a project that was fraught with needle troubles, from swatching and swatching to find the right needle, to ordering the right needles, to having the kids step on one of the needles and reordering…

I was loving the idea of this too much to give up, though. The drapey, elegant promise of the swatches. The colour. The fact that I was seeing so many garments like this in stores – floaty fabrics with open, draped fronts. I really wanted to wear this.

___

Whisper Cardigan

___

It dresses up or down and suits both skin-hugging underlayers and more swingy underlayers. It adds just a bit of warmth but a whole lotta style.

___

Whisper Cardigan

___

The construction is clever and yet simple. Knit from side to side for the arms and back and then you pick up stitches for the ribbing. Some are bound off for the neck and front shoulders and then the ‘skirt’ is knit down.

I wasn’t sure about that faux seam down the back and considered eliminating it as some have done. But I’m glad I did it. I think it adds a level of structural support that will keep things from sagging out.

I did make one modification. I added short rows at 7.25 inches to help the front tips spiral down: sl 1, k1, m1, k 3, w & t. Then purl back. Knit across, knitting wrap together, knit 5 more, w & t. Repeat for a total of 5 short rows. I’m not sure this was totally necessary, but many of the finished versions that I saw weren’t spiraling, they were just curling and I really wanted that downward energy to be part of the drape.

___

Whisper Cardigan

___

This was a Project Spectrum knit for the East. Not yellow, but orange is certainly close to yellow and it typifies the element of air and the season of spring.

It was hard to leave it behind, but I knew I wouldn’t need it on the camping trip.  I’d either be shivering and wearing a serious cardigan or baking and wearing as little as possible. I haven’t had it off much since we got back, though. I have thought about making another, but I think I’ll make a grey Featherweight Cardigan by the same designer first. It’s similar but different. You know.

7 thoughts on ““Finished,” she whispered

  1. Charity says:

    It looks gorgeous on you! Funnily enough, I just started Sabine, a different lace weight cardigan, the other day! (Before I was derailed by surprise renos :o)

  2. Sarah says:

    Wispy! Love it. I don’t have the courage yet to try knitting clothing. This piece is so gorgeous it almost makes me want to try a scarf just to get me started down the path.

Leave a Reply

