Writing

“So you sit down at, say, nine every morning, or ten every night. You put a piece of paper in the typewriter, or you turn on your computer and bring up the right file, and then you stare at it for an hour or so.” Anne Lamott, Bird by Bird

___


Writing

___

She saved up her money and then pounced on a great sale. An Acer Netbook. A tiny computer that lets you write and go online. The pared-down essentials.

And write she does. At 10 at night I go into her room and find her curled up with blankets and the Netbook in her lap and tell her to go to sleep. At 8:30 in the morning I go to call her for breakfast with a kiss and she’s writing at her desk. At 3 pm she pulls up a stool to the kitchen counter and types away for a while.

I envy her. The gadget.  The time.  The sense of beginning.

3 thoughts on “Writing

  1. patricia says:

    This is just lovely. I envy her too! The best way to learn to write is…to write!

    I just happened to decide to read Bird By Bird again this month, for the zillionth time, for a little essayists project on my blog. Then I saw your announcement for the Yahoo group, and I keep thinking I should join. Writing isn’t a new thing for me–it’s been a passion for almost two decades now, but I still have much to learn. I wasn’t sure I’d be the right kind of person for your group…

    Oh, what the heck. I’m off to join! An opportunity to relish Anne Lamott with others? How can I resist?

Leave a Reply

