Knitting and Usefulness

Knitting is one of the most useful parenting tools I have.  It keeps me from striding about the house like a caged animal.  I don’t know how many homeschoolers think of it like that, but I sure do.  Knitting and homeschooling go together like hand and glove, like wool and needles, like tea and sunrise.  You’ve got to be there, near them and available for questions, keeping them from wandering away, smiling at them occasionally.  But if you’re a person who hates to just sit, that’s hard.  Really hard.

I can sit and knit, though. Different projects for different times. Better parenting at all times.

Birthday Socks

Birthday present socks for Rainer, knit all stealthy-like when he was from home. Yes, they were indeed knit to go with his Long-Awaited Sweater.  If you’ve got a man who likes colour and loves handknits, you cherish those facts and you cherish him.

Pattern: Waffle Rib by Charlene Schurch in “Sensational Knitted Socks”

Yarn: Lana Grossa Meilenweit Sunset in colour 8706

Needles: 2mm

Prompted by a thread at Ravelry, I totaled up the yarn I knit last year.  It was approximately 11,500 yards.  Being a mostly metric person, I don’t have a sense of the larger distance for that, but I do know it’s quite a lot.  I wonder how many stitches it represents. Or how many moments of patient waiting, how many kilometers of driving, how many math questions.

13 thoughts on “Knitting and Usefulness

  1. nettlejuice says:

    Oh, beautiful socks!

    I soooooo agree with you about knitting and homeschooling. I is a wonderful therapy for me, especially in the winter when we are inside most days and right on top of each other.

  2. connectedroots says:

    I couldn’t agree more. I hung up my needles a while ago and have revisited the craft. It does satisfy my needs while being present with my kiddos. My favorite: knitting and Uno. I can play 50 consecutive games of Uno if I have needles in hand!

    Love the socks!

  3. Saille says:

    Sigh. I love hand-knitting socks. A crabby yarn store worker told me I was too inexperienced to knit them…so of course that was the very next project I did. I just finished a pair this week. I have pictures on my blog if you want to see.

    My youngest is two…I’m not quite to the place where I can homeschool and knit. I’m still trying to keep him out of the big kids’ hair while they’re working. I am going to file this away in my head as something to look forward to.

  4. Mariah says:

    Oh yea! Knitting saved me as my girl went through that sounding out phase and many, many others. I don’t get how people can just sit with nothing in their hands.

    Great socks!

  5. Charity says:

    Yes, knitting is what makes me a much better parent! More patient, more calm… it definitely helps keep me sane when everything feels crazy.

    Very nice socks, I’m sure Rainer will love them!

  6. Wisteria says:

    I, too, find that knitting makes me a better homeschool parent. I find that I over help, bursting in to help before it’s time or even really needed. I knit during math and the difference is remarkable.

    As far as other home type jobs, knitting is not all positive. I would rather knit that wash and fold clothes, and sometimes just let it all slide to finish just one more row.

  7. Courtney says:

    My oh my did this post resonate with me!

    I have knitting projects strewn all over the house so I’m never empty handed while the kids are working. I’m so glad to know I’m not the only homeschooling mama who enjoys this!

  8. Math Stickler says:

    Hmm, since there are 3 ft to a yard and 5280 feet in a mile, we’re looking at 33500 feet, so I make it to be over 6 and a half miles. Or over 10K. (I think Heidi misplaced a decimal point.) Wow. Crazy knitting.

Leave a Reply

