Birthday Creativity

Sandra had a great birthday. Swank yarn, Calvin and Hobbes, books on painting fairies and the history of underwear…all opened in bed after a breakfast of chocolate chip banana pancakes.

Obviously, she got the day off formal homeschooling because, like, d’uh.  But she exploded in creativity, clearly inspired by How to Draw and Paint Fairyland and a DVD on P.J. Lynch’s illustration process for The Bee-Man of Orn which we’d watched a few days earlier.

1) Birthday morning explosion

It’s not often that I remember to take process photos of the kids’ work, so I’m really glad I was able to both watch her and record her.

2) in process

Sandra was clearly affected by Lynch’s complex layering of colour and texture. I loved watching her add to it. At every stage I would think, “Yep, that’s it. Great. Ooooo…No, no! I dunno, is she going to overwork it?” and she’d do something and I’d be so happy with the visual energy and the way things tied together.

3) completed

I became quite jealous of her freedom.  I’ve gotten away from art, largely because it’s assumed such a serious mood. But Project Spectrum is inspiring me and I’ve already played with the paints again. Just played. It felt so good.

She gave me the finished picture. I asked her, “It’s your birthday, so why am I getting the best gift?”

13 thoughts on “Birthday Creativity

  1. renee @ FIMBY says:

    Ok I love this post. The photography, the freedom your daughter had on HER day (our son’s day is tomorrow!), and her gorgeous painting. Isn’t having creative children the best gift ever! Happiest birthday Sandra!

  2. ChristineMM says:

    The painting is lovely. I remain scared of watercolor but inside wish I could do it. Yet I have other creative outlets that are fulfilled right now.

    Sorry you are feeling that art making is too serious.

    I really miss collage work but have been too dedicated to other parts of my life to haul out the papers and glues and rubber stamps and paints and to make a mess. I’m not sorry as I am attending well to the important things. However I do miss it!

    I’m in the process of converting the extra bedroom which formerly was a playroom into an art studio for me right now. I hope when the space is converted, which means mostly moving other stuff out and moving art and craft stuff in, not redecorating…I can’t wait to get down to artmaking business.

  3. Tammy says:

    I so enjoyed the process shots of Sandra’s work. I love watching children bring their creative ideas to life ~ Sandra clearly adores art and loves color. PS. My 9 yr old also adores Calvin & Hobbes!

  4. Lisa says:

    What imaginative gifts! The history of underwear!! lol… You continue to amaze me with your creative answers to life! Blows the summer pjs I had in mind for my d’s upcoming birthday right out of the water! lol….

  5. ami says:

    Hi! I’ve been lurking around, reading your blog for a little while now, and this post has got me out from the woodwork to say—those drawings are great! I’ve really enjoyed your posts, and I’m sorry I haven’t introduced myself earlier. So, hi, my name is Ami; I don’t have any kids, but my best friend is homeschooling 3 & another friend is homeschooling 3 more, so I’m always surrounded by mamas thinkin’ outside the institutionalized education box. I’m also “unschooling” (or perhaps even homeschooling) myself, as an adult getting sort of a second start on things, and I blog about it; feel free to stop by. Take care, and thanks for the great pics. Happy birthday to Sandra.

    xo,
    ami

Leave a Reply

