Meret

Meret

Meret

Meret, as the Mystery Beret came to be known, was a big hit here. I knit one for my sister, totally loving the thrill of knitting a Christmas gift when I didn’t know what the outcome would be. As in all ‘mystery knits’, clues were released at regular intervals and I completed each clue, rabid with curiosity about what would unfold before me on my needles. This project had three stages – brim (rolled or ribbed), lace section, decrease section. I had black yarn on hand for my sister’s gift and planned to knit her a Kittyville hat from the Stitch and Bitch book. Dark yarn wasn’t the best yarn for knitting a lace beret, and I liked the thought of a slouchy hat rather than a fitted toque, so it wasn’t surprising when I knit myself one.

Meret

Meret

The basic flower is from Nicky Epstein’s book on knitted flowers in double-stranded Fleece Artist sock yarn in blue and purple. The main yarns are both Knit Picks Swish worsted, black for my sister, and Delft Heather for me. I had an itching to put a flower on this beret, which is why I embroidered the mittens with some of the purple Fleece Artist when I made them. I tossed around some ideas for making my cowl a little fancier to match, but decided in the end that it did just fine as a plain blue bit of knitting. I can’t say how much nicer it is to get dressed to go out and not put on an assortment of handknits that don’t match – the look was homemade rather than handmade.

Love this beret pattern. Love the slouchiness. I am thinking of knitting the same designer’s Spring Cap without the pompom. Something like this version.

Modification: I knit the ribbing twice as long for mine so that I could have a double thickness over my ears. Prairie winters and prairie winds…

Meret detail

4 thoughts on “Meret

  1. GailV says:

    Oooooh, I have a pattern-crush on this!

    I need a new hat. Hmmm…. And I can even make it blue, since no one will ever see us together and think we’re trying to be twins.

Leave a Reply

