A better view

Pictures that show off two presents a little better than previous shots.

Shoe organizer

Tias’ gift to Sandra, a cloth shoe organizer for the back of her door which he embellished with freezer paper stencils.

Given the number of closet organizing devices made from cloth, I see huge potential in this idea. Polka-dotted sweater holders, shelves stenciled with bike helmets…pretty or funky or bold or graceful.

We had some problems, as the plasticized cloth on the only fabric model available in local stores didn’t seem to grip the freezer paper well and that was then exacerbated by the runniness of the combined acrylic paint/fabric medium. We had much better results with projects that used standard fabric paints. Lesson learned for next time.

Simplicity 3835

Simplicity 3835 sewn for Sandra for Christmas. I’ve made this pattern twice before. This one, though, had a sweetness and spring-like freshness that meant I had a hard time giving this away. I hope it serves her well in the warmer months.

It had better, or it’s moving into my closet…

12 thoughts on “A better view

  1. Cheryl says:

    Very cool, both. Sandra’s shirt is so pretty & delicate & fun at the same time.

    Sandra – lighten up, girl! You’re wearing springlike freshness!!!

    I have an off-white canvas shoe holder in my closet, which is now beckoning me…

  2. Michelle says:

    Love them both! What a very clever idea. I keep wanting to try the wax paper stencil project with the kids.

    I love that even though it was store bought, it was personalized. Everything touched by hands(:

    I HAVE that pattern! Another project I need to work on. I LOVE the little bird, very spring inspired. (you should still ‘borrow’ it sometimes)

    Cheers!

  3. Nicole says:

    Really love the shirt!! Wish I had the patience for sewing. Somehow, knitting – even ripping out when necessary – doesn’t frustrate me the way sewing does.

    Yes, there is January blue that I remember (beautiful photo). We are orange and yellow here for January. You can see it at my blog.

    Best wishes for your new year at HOME! 🙂

  4. Courtney says:

    I, too, have made a few shirts from pattern #3835. I’m not nearly as generous as you … it never even crossed my mind to share with my daughter : ) Maybe I’ll get some generosity in my spirit by her next birthday!

  5. ChristineMM says:

    Where did you find the cool cloth organizer thing? I’ve never seen one like that before. I could use one or a few.

    I had bought a shoe cloth thing in about 1995 and it was great and about $30 through a mail order catalog. A few months ago I bought a cloth one looked the same at Wal Mart for $10 (made in China) and when I got home none of our shoes fit into the slots and it was about 10 inches shorter and narrower overall than my good one. SIGH SIGH SIGH

    I use that one now for kids winter hats and also they only fit one kid mittten or one kid glove SIGH

    I need a source of good organizers that hang on the backs of closet doors. I am not a good sewer (yet) so can’t imagine making one from scratch.

    Thanks.

  6. sistermama says:

    I love the shirt. I’m glad you posted it, because I’ve been looking for a pattern just like it for a while. I’m so ready to start some spring sewing, just in case it helps hurry it along!

  7. Lisa says:

    Great gifts! Maybe if I stencil Harley logos to match his new bedding my son will actually put his sweatshirts IN the sweater organizer I got him at Ikea?? lol…. The blouse is very sweet!

  8. Dina says:

    Could you tell me where you got that closet door organizer? I need something for cloth diapers and I think that’d be perfect. I love the cute designs you guys applied to it, too.

    Thank you!!!!

Leave a Reply

