Hansel and Gretel

270

Sandra’s hat and mittens are done! Cabled, luxurious, soft, washable, flattering. Just what I’d hoped.

Yarn: Knit Picks Swish Superwash, Merlot Heather

Pattern:Gretel Beret

Pattern: Very Cabley Mittens

Gretel was a fabulous pattern. I learned a lot and felt terribly clever the whole time, which is just marvelous in a project, don’t you think? A tubular cast on to start – super-dee-duper smart cast on. Then traveling cables to make you feel terribly clever, particularly as I knit them without a cable needle. And the colour just kept unfolding and deepening. Totally transfixed me. I love heathers.

Gretel back

Gretel side

I didn’t do a gauge swatch – I tend not to on hats, socks, and mittens. I feel more reckless on the smaller items. The Gretel turned out a bit big, even with making the slouchiest version. And so I simply threaded some slender black elastic through the brim in two places and solved the problem.

Very Cabley Mittens

The mittens were fabulous, too. Pattern was clear and the all-over cables on the hands were such a luxurious touch. I did make a few modifications, though. I added a thumb gusset, since I have a firmly held conviction that since my thumb comes from the side of my palm, so should thumbs on mittens. I also lengthened the cuff by a few repeats. Too short cuffs are the bane of a warm person’s existence on winter walks.

P1090668

So there we go. I have to say, this clothing of my loved ones in woolens before the snow flies is a very satisfying process. As of this moment, one person in the family has got a warm head and hansel…

9 thoughts on “Hansel and Gretel

  1. Carrie says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! I am nowhere near as talented… I am limited to straight scarves and blankets and the fanciest pattern I know is the waffle stitch. I’ve warmed my little ones with blankets and scarves so far… no mittens or socks, but I do agree it is very satisfying.
    Wonderful work.

  2. JoVE says:

    Those are lovely. And I agree about the longer mitten cuffs. I think some of the designers live in warmer places and really don’t get how cold it gets where we live (even though we live in different parts of the Great White North).

  3. Patricia says:

    Oooh, I’ve been wanting to knit Gretel–yours makes me even more inspired! It’s gorgeous. I agree with you about Ysolda’s patterns–they’re straightforward and smart, and they make you feel more competent for knitting them. I’ve knit Urchin and Liesl. It’s stunning how complicated Liesl ends up looking, despite the beautiful simplicity of the pattern.

Leave a Reply

