101 in 1001 update

General Thoughts When I began my 101 Things in 1001 Days project, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I’m a list maker by nature but I also struggle with putting too much on myself.  And yet this seemed different.  It seemed to call to me: so many of the items on my lists were part of the daily grind and I was always putting off the bigger things – the dreams – til “someday”. But I’ve seen enough movies to know that you can “someday” yourself til there ain’t no somedays left.

166 So, 1001 days instead of someday. To go on the list, a goal had to be out of the routine round of tasks. It had to inspire me. It had to stretch me. I broke the whole thing into categories to make brainstorming easier, left open spaces, and launched myself into the process.

1) In retrospect, I wish I hadn’t put so many multiple tasks as single tasks. Really. Because there would have been nothing wrong with breaking down “reread all Jane Austen” into more than one goal. And I did it to myself again and again. 2) I didn’t know we wouldn’t be staying with the Society for Creative Anachronism, so the historical garb moved way down on my priority list.  3) I also had no way of knowing that just after completing the list I’d morph from someone who primarily knit her creative urges into a painter and a sketcher and a sewer and…

Where we sleep #1

Specific Updates:
done: 35
on their way:17
awaiting completion: 45

225

That adds up to 97, not the 100 my list tells me I have on there, so I’m not sure what’s up. I can’t seem to make it all square up and, frankly, it’s not worth pulling my hair out over.

A few recent highlights: While we were in Germany I sketched every place we slept, even though it was at times hard to find the energy and time at the end of a long day. I will be uploading those…sometime. I also took along the Jane Austen novels I hadn’t reread and savoured them while we were there. What perfect holiday reading they were. I knit a few pairs of socks, painted in Vienna, and ran the half-marathon in Budapest. I’ve just started my goal of eating only Core Foods for a month, but I’ve started. (The Core Foods are a list of unprocessed foods that are one of the two plans we offer at Weight Watchers. I already follow that plan and love it, but for these 30 days I’m not going to be using up any of my non-Core points.)
153

I’ve got a few days less than a year left, and many more than half of my goals are uncompleted. I hadn’t expected the number to be quite so high, although I knew from the outset that there was a very high chance the list wouldn’t have 101 neat check marks beside it.  Perfection wasn’t the point.  Inspiration was.  Getting down to things.  Not saying, “I’d love to do that, but right now things are so crazy…”

So, I’d better scan the list again, match inspiration to the seasons left, and plot a course of little check marks on a path away from someday.

5 thoughts on “101 in 1001 update

  1. Charity says:

    It’s great to see you giving yourself grace about where you’re at vs. what your list says. Although, if I do say so myself, you’ve made some really incredible accomplishments, and had some totally amazing experiences! :0)

  2. Amy says:

    I find what you’ve already accomplished on the list staggering… I totally understand though about putting things on such a list (well, any kind of list) that are too ‘big’ and should have been several. In addition to finishing a whole lot of things you really wanted to do, it seems like you’re learning a lot about you… as always… through the list, too. That you’re okay with the math not adding up… seems like a good sign!

  3. Kim says:

    I think your accomplishments are extremely impressive. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I visit your blog because you are an inspiration to me. Posts like this only confirm that.

  4. Steph @ Problem Solvin Mom says:

    I love the idea of this list, and now that I’ve seen it in a few different places, I think I’m ready to get started, thanks for the inspiration!

    I think you’re making great progress. Sharing my goals and progress on my blog really help keep me focused!

  5. Michelle says:

    I too am a list person and the delight you get from seeing all you’ve accomplished checked off is amazing….

    I love your idea of 101 in 1001 days. You’ve inspired me to look at that as an option for the beginning of this year.

    Your blog is a joy to read and I’m glad I’ve found it on the web(:

Leave a Reply

