A moment to celebrate

204

2 hours, 37 minutes.

15.8 miles or 25.5km

pace: 9:54 min. miles or 6:09 min. kms

This, my friends, is a moment to freeze, a moment to celebrate. It is the longest I have ever run…by far. (13 miles was my previous record.) This pace is a speed that I worked hard to maintain during my regular runs a year ago…and this was a long run not a regular run. At the end of the run I was energized, fresh, happy. I felt better after this run than I have felt on many a shorter run.

193

I may not be fast, but I am far faster than I could have imagined when I first started. I have taught myself so much about my strength of character and my physical strength. I have learned that I can run with blisters; I can run in humidity; I can run up hills and down hills; I can run when I have a headache; I can run when I don’t feel like it; I can run and run and run and not stop for two hours and thirty-seven minutes.

I can run.  I am a runner.  I am an athlete.

12 thoughts on “A moment to celebrate

  1. Mom says:

    Every step of the way you build confidence in yourself because that is how you have chosen to view life. It’s been wonderful to see you challenge yourself and celebrate yourself.

    Best of luck for the big race…as always I’m rooting for you, not just from the sideline, but from the depths of my being, from my DNA to yours!

    love mom

  2. Christine says:

    What an inspiration!

    Can you recommend any resources – books, plans, or a website – to help someone start running? Slow and steady stuff . . . ??

    I love the simplicity of running – anytime, any place, simple tools, quiet, etc.

    Enjoy the sights and smells and tastes of your remaining international adventure!

    Thanks for any help and suggestions 🙂

Leave a Reply

